Tuesday

November 6, 2016

I’m saddened by this election and who we have become.  Regardless of its outcome, a large percentage of this country is willing to elect a candidate running on fear, divisiveness and hate.  And his message is selling better in the Christian community than anywhere.

I know there is a huge volume of Christians who not only oppose Trump, but are vocal in their expression of his failure to align with Christian faith.  But there are still many who do not see that disconnect, or don’t believe it to be relevant.

I asked friends of Christian faith to share the verses of the Bible that most bring them comfort.  As an atheist without emotional connection to that text, I had to ask others to gain that perspective.  I have listed them below, in the order they came to me.  I don’t necessarily know the political leanings of those who shared them.

If somehow you are reading this and are considering casting your vote for Trump, I ask this.  How do these words of comfort align with the leader you may elect?  If the ones that promise God will take care of everything bring you the most comfort, remember there are many more verses that give specific direction to your own choices.  There is a time for everything, yes, but never a good time for arrogance or cruelty.  But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness…”

I listed one passage at the bottom below that wasn’t shared, but stumbled upon when I accidentally typed in the wrong chapter number.  I don’t believe in divine intervention, but many of you do, and it seemed relevant.

Lastly, if you need a glimpse into a man who runs on a platform of racism and fear, capitalizing on the attention of the poor and uneducated, look here and here.   This man, who successfully ran on such ideas, was short lived in his political success.  Later, no longer a politician but a community leader, he helped organize the false imprisonment of blacks into forced labor to manage the crisis of the 1927 flood.   That choice created abuse, enormous suffering, and even murder.  As his great granddaughter, I can’t help but see the similarities.  I benefit from the wisdom of a father who fought in WWII and was shown the detriment of such ideas.  Please don’t dismiss the collateral damage of electing a man who would campaign as Trump has, and all the reasons we have to know better.

***

Psalm 23:

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.
    He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,
    he refreshes my soul.
He guides me along the right paths
for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk
through the darkest valley,
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.
Surely your goodness and love will follow me
all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord
forever.

Philippians 4:13

13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

John 3:16

16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

I Peter 5:7

7 Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

Galatians 5:22

22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,

Psalm 27

The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?

Isaiah 49:16

16 See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands;
your walls are ever before me.

Proverbs 3:5-6

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.

Joshua 1:9

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

Philippians 4:7

And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Psalm 46:10

10 He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.”

Ecclesiastes 3

There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under the heavens:

    a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,
    a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
    a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
    a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
    a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
    a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
    a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.

What do workers gain from their toil? 10 I have seen the burden God has laid on the human race. 11 He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. 12 I know that there is nothing better for people than to be happy and to do good while they live. 13 That each of them may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all their toil—this is the gift of God. 14 I know that everything God does will endure forever; nothing can be added to it and nothing taken from it. God does it so that people will fear him.

15 Whatever is has already been,
and what will be has been before;
and God will call the past to account.

16 And I saw something else under the sun:

In the place of judgment—wickedness was there,
in the place of justice—wickedness was there.

17 I said to myself,

“God will bring into judgment
both the righteous and the wicked,
for there will be a time for every activity,
a time to judge every deed.”

18 I also said to myself, “As for humans, God tests them so that they may see that they are like the animals. 19 Surely the fate of human beings is like that of the animals; the same fate awaits them both: As one dies, so dies the other. All have the same breath[c]; humans have no advantage over animals. Everything is meaningless. 20 All go to the same place; all come from dust, and to dust all return. 21 Who knows if the human spirit rises upward and if the spirit of the animal goes down into the earth?”

22 So I saw that there is nothing better for a person than to enjoy their work, because that is their lot. For who can bring them to see what will happen after them?

James 1:5

If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.

James 1:19

19 My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry,

John 1:17

17 For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ.

James 5:1-6

Now listen, you rich people, weep and wail because of the misery that is coming on you. Your wealth has rotted, and moths have eaten your clothes. Your gold and silver are corroded. Their corrosion will testify against you and eat your flesh like fire. You have hoarded wealth in the last days. Look! The wages you failed to pay the workers who mowed your fields are crying out against you. The cries of the harvesters have reached the ears of the Lord Almighty. You have lived on earth in luxury and self-indulgence. You have fattened yourselves in the day of slaughter. You have condemned and murdered the innocent one, who was not opposing you.

One Response to “Tuesday”

  1. David Cox said

    Hey Sally,
    Thanks for your comments. In brief, both candidates are severely flawed, and true, we all have malfunctions. I don’t believe that all Christians or even non Christian’s who support Trump do so simply out of fear. Both candidates have a track record. Neither is the perfect candidate. His position appeals to those who desire and that her progressive ideology is simply not palatable for many reasons.

    While many certainly cite these verses with Trump in mind, these verses represent the unchanging truths of God. (I imagine many supporters of Hillary cite these same verses.)
    So regardless of who wins, these verses are about hope and trust in God and not a candidate.

    I know you and I are approaching this from opposing world views. Would like to hear about your journey in light of our past at CUMC.

    Hope you are well. You’re kids look great. Hard to believe they grow up so fast.

    Blessings,

    David C

Leave a Reply

