The Gift of Being Understood

April 22, 2011

I believe in tolerance, in finding at least a smidgen of commonality with all the people I come across.  But there is simply no replacement for connecting with a person with whom I find instant understanding.  It is a magical experience.

Like this conversation I had with the cashier at ALDI the other day:

Me:  “Hi.  How are you?”

Cashier guy: “Crazy.  How are you?”

Me: “Nutty.”

Cashier guy: “I’m from Tennessee.”

Me: “I’m from Mississippi.”

We nodded at this profound understanding and wished each other a good day.  I picked up my milk and went on my way.

Leave a Reply

