Funny story on the way to…

January 18, 2011

I am having a DELIGHTFUL day!  So delightful, in fact, that I feel compelled to share the mundane nuances with all of you.  All five of you.

First off, Daughter #2 had a meltdown before school.  It is SOOOO hard to get three kids out the door and to school on time – high stress.  When one melts down, the system quickly falls apart.  But today I was uncharacteristically relaxed, so I didn’t completely freak out with her.  And what do you know?  We recovered.  We recovered so well she and I parted on good terms when we arrived at the school.  This is the outcome I work towards, but rarely achieve.  I’m learning.

Later on I had lunch with my friend Korie, one of the most beautiful and honest and wise and loving people I know.  We hadn’t seen each other in…I don’t even know how long.  Too long.  So it goes.

But BEFORE I walked into the restaurant, I parked on the snowy, car packed, odd side of the street.  By the way, I kick ass at parallel parking.  My Dad wouldn’t let me take the drivers test until I could do that well.  Thanks, Dad.

And while I did land in the perfect spot, I dinged the car behind me.  Bummer.  I got out and looked and the only damage I did was crack the plastic license plate holder, a loss few people would notice, but it wasn’t mine to not care about, so I felt bad.  This is not the first time I dinged a parked car without an owner in sight and left a note.  But my pen wouldn’t work and my friend was waiting.  Oh, the debate.  Do I leave, don’t I?  I finally rationalized that I could check back when I was done with lunch.  Briefly it occurred to me that my friend Sheryl has a car just like it, wouldn’t it be funny (or embarrassing) if it was hers?

And who do I see when I walk in the restaurant?  My dear friend Sheryl.  Yes, it was her car and, yes, she quickly offered absolution after my confession.

Whew!

What a gift it is to be so surrounded by sweet (and forgiving) friends that I run into them (or in my case, their cars) everywhere I go.  So if any of you know of any stellar plastic license plate cover ideas, please let me know.

One Response to “Funny story on the way to…”

  1. laura said

    It was always an amazing feat when I managed to rise above my sons’ tantrums and it never failed to make me feel like Mother Theresa or Buddha or Nanny on Nanny and The Professor.

Leave a Reply

