15 pages in, and I already recommend it highly…

August 27, 2009

I’m cheating.  My own thoughts are especially void of eloquence.  So here is a little treasure from a book I stumbled upon at the library this weekend. 

Field Notes on the Compassionate Life: A search for the soul of kindness by Marc Ian Barasch

Early on he tells of reading a woman’s magazine at the dentist office, and a quote from Audrey Hepburn he found therein. In response to the magazine’s request for her beauty tips, she wrote the following:

“For attractive lips, speak words of kindness.
For lovely eyes, seek out the good in people.
For a slim figure, share your food with the hungry.
For poise, walk with the knowledge you never walk alone.
If you ever need a helping hand, you’ll find one
at the end of each of your arms.”

Yes, the cynic in me allowed the thought to creep in that maybe it was easy for Audrey to believe that, being so blessed with beauty as she was.  Then I thought, it doesn’t really matter.  She took the opportunity to focus on a deeper meaning of beauty in a forum that, I would guess, was not looking for it.

What if we all sought beauty in that way?

(PS – I used that text with absolutely no permission.  It will be a miracle if 20 people read it.)

4 Responses to “15 pages in, and I already recommend it highly…”

  1. Kathy said

    I read it…. now 19 more?

    I loved the quote… especially the part about sharing your food…it brought a smile to my face. thanks.

  2. sallysmart said

    Thanks dear gal!

  3. Doug Thomson said

    It is a very nice quote… love it! She really was an impressive person wasn’t she. Would like to know more about her.

  4. Kira Weier said

    This reminded me of something I heard in a song the other day. I have no idea who sings it or what it was called, heard it on the current. “I’ve got a perfect body, but sometimes I forget.” Made me think, damn straight! I’ve got a voice that speaks, legs that move, lungs that breathe, ears that ear, a heart that beats, toes that wiggle, and on and on and on.

Leave a Reply

