Mommy, S – P – E – N – T

July 10, 2009

That’s me. Spent. Despite my writer and photographer aspirations, my day job is mommy-at-home. For some of you, this might conjure images of June Cleaver or, possibly, your own mother. Well, I more closely resemble Roseanne Barr (in the TV show). I’m not that wide, but if I keep managing my stress with chips and salsa and gin & tonic, I might be there a year from now.

I have lost all ability to keep a house organized or plan meals. I am impatient and cranky and my kids are happy to tell you so.

The other day I took my kids to the dentist, the pediatric kind with bright colored patient chairs and funky sunglasses and ten flavors of toothpaste. Toward the end of our back-to-back appointments, my children were getting rowdy. I tried so hard to keep a calm voice and not look like the tyrant I am. And it must have worked because the dentist and her assistant marveled at my calm demeanor and parenting skills.

“Kids,” I said to them. “Is Mommy good at using a calm voice?”

Altogether now… “Noooooooo.” Their heads moved back and forth, but their bodies kept playing.  The fact they confirmed was not worth pause.

If you wonder why I fessed up, it is because the false sense of perfect parenting does a favor to no one. So to all you other parents out there who feel less than perfect, stop by my blog. I’ll give you reason to feel superior.

One Response to “Mommy, S – P – E – N – T”

  1. those perfect parents are only on TV shows anyhow 😉 .

Leave a Reply

